Armagh march into final

ARMAGH hopes of double Inter-Zone Championship glory remain on course thanks to the men’s weekend win against North West by 62-47.

The Orchard County ladies are currently preparing for a final showdown against Oriel. The men must now also turn focus to a showpiece clash - with Oriel the opposition on Saturday, February 16.

Armagh players will also feature in the final stages of the Junior Zone Championships on March 2.

Alan Roberts, Pat Garvey, Kieran Trainor and Gary Culbert struggled early on across mat one to sit 6-2 down by four ends.

However, scores of a single and two counts of two pushed Armagh 7-6 up by seven.

The remaining scoring featured some North West doubles as Armagh’s fightback dropped short by a single.

On mat two, Derek Wright, Paul Moffett, Steven McCall and David Beattie were down by eight shots at six ends before regrouping.

Scores of two, three and four moved Armagh to within two shots on a scoreline of 11-9 by the close of play.

Joe Beattie, Chris Trainor, Raymond Hunter and Laurence McCarten proved confident on mat three.

Scoring across six of the 10 ends left Armagh in a commanding position. It was 8-2 by five ends then 14-5 at the finish.

Andrew Leckey, Chris Trainor, Colin Deering and Jal Richardson were involved in an entertaining tussle on mat four.

Play proved level at seven ends before Armagh registered a three on the seventh end ahead of a single in the 10-7 victory.

Aidan Corrigan, William Gilpin, Nigel Uprichard and George Crothers proved short of form overall. However, Corrigan saved shots in the role of skip on the way to hard-earned success by 11-10.

Mark Sproule, Paul Whittle, Sean Breen and Andrew Hughes featured some big bowls. Sproule and Hughes produced under pressure on the way to the 9-4 success.

THE Armagh Zone Championship finals will take place on Friday, February 1 in Waringstown Parish Church Hall.

RESULTS from the latest Jethro Rinks’ League play are as follows: MORNING SECTION - W.Cousins 11 (1) W.Clinghan 16 (3), A.Magee 9 (0) E.Smyth 16 (3), C.Maguire 8 (0) M.Milligan 20 (3), C.Whitty 24 (3) M.Hamilton 3 (0), W.Cairns 22 (3) G.Richardson 5 (0), R.Neely 12 (1) A.Kirk 14 (3). AFTERNOON SECTION - N.Orr 14 (3) S.Garvey 13 (1), J.Mackle 11 (1) N.Garvey 15 (3), P.Sexton 6 (0) W.Martin 17 (3), N.Conlon 15 (3) L.Maginnis 12 (1), S.Malcolmson 8 (0) G.Bell 23 (3), B.Boness 9 (1) S.White 14 (3).