Aston enjoys run to the top

GOLF NEIL Aston steered a path to Clubworld Travel New Year tournament points at Carrickblacker on Saturday.

His tally of 28 placed Aston top of the section C scoreboard.

JC Wright marked his recent return from injury with runner-up spot on 26 points, followed by Derek Jones’ 25.5.

Brian Friar and Arthur Chambers posted 12 points apiece in section C.

John Tate matched the leading score of the day - 28 points - for success across section D. Next in line was the club vice-captain, Hugo Marley.

Eddie Patterson’s score of 25 points sealed second in the section, with Michael Heaney registering 23 points.

Philip McKeag put 24 points on the board in section A for a one-under-par round thanks to birdies across the first, second and 17th holes.

Derek McCoy was next on 23, followed by third-placed Clarke Banks’ 22.

Banks and McKeag remain the early leaders in section A on 18 points following three weeks of play.

The countback was required in section B following three players on 24 points overall - with Pete Savage top across the back five followed by Simon Johnson and Andy Gribben.

Eddie Atkinson is head of section B on 16.