Civic honour for the town’s BB Old Boys’ Association

A number of events have been planned to celebrate 40 years of St Aengus NS.
A number of events have been planned to celebrate 40 years of St Aengus NS.

​To commemorate their 75th anniversary, First Portadown BB Old Boys’ Association were granted a civic reception by Craigavon Borough Council recently.

Around 60 guests attended the function, including the Mayor of Craigavon, Councillor Colin McCusker, Alderman Robert Smith, Councillor Kenneth Twyble and Councillor Margaret Tinsley, as well as members of the association and a number of BB Old Boys.

The event also ‘doubled up’ as the Association’s annual general meeting and the following office bearers were elected; President - Rev. Norman Cardwell. Honorary Vice-Presidents - Albert Adamson, Pastor David Burrows (USA), Ivan Davison, Wesley Gould, Derek Laverty (Bible Class Leader), Harry Leeman, Victor Pickering, Ernie Thornton, Kenneth Twyble, Leslie Wells, Bobbie Wright. Chairman - Steven Wright. Vice-Chairman - Brian Morrison. Secretary -Paul Teggart. Treasurer - Steven Wright. Committee - Martin Brownlee, Billy England, Jonathan Gracey, Billy McCann, Kenneth Moffett (Full Members), John McLellan, Stephen Pollock (Associate Members).

The association held their annual church service recently in Thomas Street Methodist. The preacher was the Rev Roy Cooper, Chaplain of the Boys’ Brigade Northern Ireland District.

David Blevins and Errol McCrory read the scripture lessons. The Rev Norman Cardwell and Kenneth Twyble led the prayers. Organist was Mr. Ryan Harris (Thomas Street Methodist Church, Director of Music). PowerPoint and sound by Paul Cranston and Patrick Loughead.