Champions Ahorey back on track

Ahorey under 18s all set for the NA Sports/LBBOB Boys' Brigade Soccer Sevens programme.
Ahorey under 18s all set for the NA Sports/LBBOB Boys' Brigade Soccer Sevens programme.

Defending champions Ahorey got back on track in the NA Sports/LBBOB Boys’ Brigade Soccer Sevens with a 7-1 success against Drumcree/Milltown.

It marked a welcome win for the under 14s following defeat from the opening fixture against Knocknamuckley.

Reece McClatchey and Josh Irwin each grabbed hat-tricks, with Andrew Hamilton the other scorer. Bob Hynds found the net for Drumcree/Milltown.

The derby date between 1st Lurgan and 2nd Lurgan produced a 6-3 victory for the former to open the programme in winning fashion.

Daniel Pepper finished with two goals for 1st Lurgan - a tally matched by Jessie Turner.

Kyle White and Peter Hillen were also on song.

Nathan Kidd’s 2nd Lurgan brace and a goal for Ashley Martin left the final tally at 6-3.

FIXTURES: Tuesday, February 2 - (under 14s) Ahorey v Maralin, (under 18s) LBBOB Youth Sevens v Maralin; Thursday, February 4 - (under 14s) Knocknamuckley v 7th Portadown, (under 18s) Knocknamuckley v 1st Lurgan.


Loughgall Youth under 17s finished on level terms in Friday’s clash with Coleraine.

The game in Dungannon produced strong early play by Loughgall Youth and Ryan Leeman created confusion with an early lob over the goalkeeper.

A defender was on hand to clear the danger but Michael Rafferty steered the loose ball goalwards and over the line from distance.

Coleraine’s response proved impressive and it was 1-1 at half-time before a second goal left Loughgall Youth on the backfoot.

Mark McKitterick pulled off some fine saves to help Loughgall Youth stay in contention and Kris Calvert’s excellent cross was headed home by Stevie Monaghan.

Both sides pushed forward and Coleraine moved back on top.

However, Loughgall Youth worked hard and gained an injury-time reward with a Jamie McAtamney free-kick which led to Ryan Leeman gaining a crucial touch.

LOUGHGALL YOUTH: Mark McKitterick, Kris Calvert, Ryan Mulholland, Jason Ellison, Matt Telford, Jamie McAtamney, Stevie Monaghan, Owen Byrne, Adam Morrow, Adam Palmer, Ryan Leeman, Thomas McParland, Michee Allen.

Loughgall Youth players and officials wish a full recovery to the injured Coleraine player.