Cornett seals second Ballyhegan park prize

Mark Cornett posted a winning time of 37:41 to retain his 10-kilometre title within a record entry list for the latest Ballyhegan Park '˜n' Stride run.

Saturday, 16th July 2016, 6:05 am
The Ballyhegan Park 'n' Stride date attracted widespread support.

Cornett finished first in the adult male category - with Louise Smyth leading female over the line and Owen McCaw the top runner from the host club.

Smyth clocked up 40:39 and McCaw finished on 42:57 to claim the main prizes.

Over 140 signed up for the annual showpiece charity fundraiser across distances of 10 and 5 kilometres in aid of Marie Curie.

Lee Maginnis (20.00), Martina Fisher (26:45) and Dylan Cairns (20:51) proved the pick of the five-kilometre field in, respectively, the male, female and junior male sections.

It also marked a successful defence of the crown for Maginnis.

Meadow McCauley enjoyed double success with a time of 24:59 to wrap up the prizes for fastest female home and top junior female.

Thanks go to The Famous Grouse (main event sponsors), Simplyfruit (main club sponsors), Morgan McLernon, Frances McKeever, Carmel McCann, Joanne McCann, PSNI, Brendan Morgan, Jackie Loughran and Shane O’Hanlon.

On the pitch, Ballyhegan enjoyed success at Dorsey Emmets with victory by 2-11 to 0-15.

Mark Hughes kicked off the scoring in the visitors’ favour before Dorsey Emmets responded with a number of points entering the interval.

Conal McKeever and Conor Loughran registered points ahead of the former finding Paul Nixon but the latter’s effort was saved as Ballyhegan suffered a four-point deficit.

Dorsey Emmets increased the gap but Ballyhegan proved resolute and Paul Nixon grabbed his goal ahead of points from James McKeever and Conal McKeever.

A superb run of form across the closing quarter led to Conal McKeever, Mark Hughes, Shane McKeever and Conor Loughran forcing the visitors on to level terms.

Dorsey Emmets managed to regain control for a brief period before James McKeever attacked from deep and smashed home a superb long-range goal.

Conal McKeever increased his personal tally as Ballyhegan battled. Key players on show for Ballyhegan were Mark Hughes, Roger McCormick and Shane McCormack.

Congratulations go to the club’s Paul McQuade on making his senior county debut.


Tir na nOg under 14s’ girls stand one win away from Championship glory thanks to a semi-final triumph over Grange.

Grange posted five goals but Tir na nOg remained resolute overall for victory.

Amy O’Connor, Maeve Shortt, Eva Lambe, Clia Creaney, Molly Murphy and Georgia McNally helped Tir na nOg bounce back from the half-time deficit of 0-8 to 4-0.

Lambe’s clinical penalty finish and a superb stop from goalkeeper Casey Carvill proved key moments in the gripping win.

Tir na nOg senior ladies moved into the Championship semi-final thanks to victory over St Paul’s on a 4-7 to 1-4 tally.

Lana Black and Laura Forker combined to add goals, plus provided points before half-time - with Roisin Creaney also firing into the net for a 3-03 to 0-3 lead.

Lana Black and Mauread McIlkenny increased the Ballyhegan run of points and goalkeeper Maeve McDonald pulled off a smart stop.

St Paul’s goal marked the final score of the game for the visitors - with Lana Black and Megan Hamill adding late points following a strong block from Mauread McIlkenny.


Granemore will host the Og Sport tournament on Sunday, with registration from 10 o’clock and play set to start at 10.30. Clubs are requested to confirm entry as soon as possible.

The draw for the under 16s’ Shield Draw (preliminary round) is as follows: Division One - (preliminary round) Tir na nOg v Carrickcruppen; Division Three - (preliminary round) St Malachy’s v Eire Og, (semi-finals) Eire Og or St Malachy’s v Ballyhegan and Maghery v Naomh Eoin.