Farson home first around Tandragee in weekend stableford performance

Sunday, 3rd April 2016, 6:00 am
Stuart Paul. Pic by PressEye Ltd.

A tally of 23 points over the final nine holes left Farson first off his 19 handicap towards 43 overall.

Mark Bannerman was next in line on the competition scoreboard thanks to 22 points across the back nine within 43 overall.

He was one of four players on 43 points in the closing standings.

Stuart Paul’s four-under-par round left him on 21 points over the back nine towards third place.

The fourth-place prize was awarded to Damien O’Hara, with the latter on the same score as Stanley Black but ahead thanks to the two-hole countback.

Sean Loy was sixth on 42 points, with 22 over the back nine.

In the Sunday Stableford, Jim Campbell posted 43 points to edge out Gary Upton across the countback.

Campbell scored 20 points, with 14 over the last six holes compared to Upton’s return of 20 boosted by 13 on the back leg.

Jim Fox was next in line thanks to 42 points, with Richard Nummy fourth on the countback.

In the Easter Cup, Paul Whitten edged clear thanks to the countback score.

Ashley McConville was second on the same tally, with countback success proving decisive to settle the standings.

Whitten and McConville finished on 67 nett apiece, with the former on 32 nett across the back nine and the latter with 33.

Roy Tilson was third - followed home by Allen Morton, Alan Black and Joe Campbell.

Morton edged home in top spot courtesy of 30 nett on the back leg.

Black posted 33 nett ahead of Campbell’s 36.

Joe Donaghy was the leading senior on 141 nett.

Stuart Paul’s one-under-par first-round tally was posted before a level-par next outing on the way to gross success.

Jim Carson’s 64 nett helped to secure the first card prize over Stephen McCormick, the latter on 66 nett.

Philip Saunders was third on 68 nett thanks to the six-hole countback score off 22.

Winston Yeman was fourth place on 68 nett, with 23 within the return leg.

Joe Conn won the second card on 66 nett, with John Haffey next home thanks to 67 nett for runners-up spot.

Haffey finished second ahead of Stephen Dennison’s tally of 68 nett and William Gillespie came home fourth.