County Armagh juniors finish as cup champions

County Armagh Junior players at the presentation of the Dick Craig Memorial Cup in Lurgan.
County Armagh Junior players at the presentation of the Dick Craig Memorial Cup in Lurgan.

County Armagh’s preparations for the summer SuperCupNI schedule provided a trophy return on Saturday alongside the on-field benefits.

The Orchard County’s Junior players proved the pick of the field to capture the Dick Craig Memorial Cup in Lord Lurgan Park.

Success arrived thanks to wins over County Down and Club NI under 14s by, respectively, scorelines of 1-0 and 5-3.

The Premier squad shared the spoils against County Antrim before recording a 3-0 win over Annagh United under 19s.

Other results were: PREMIER - County Down 6 Annagh United under 19s 0, County Down 3 County Antrim 0; JUNIOR - North Dublin Schoolboys’ League 2 Club NI under 14s 1, County Down 1 North Dublin Schoolboys’ League 1.

The warm-up work will continue this weekend in a programme organised by the County Down panel.

“Both management teams finished pleased with the performances of the players,” said Dean McCullough, County Armagh SuperCupNI Association chairman. “We now look forward to playing in tournaments this weekend hosted by County Down.

“Our thanks also go to Dale Farm for sponsored protein milk products, with water provided by Aqua Twist.”

JUNIOR SQUAD: David Walsh (Linfield), Adam McAlpine (Glenavon), Patrick Kerr (Armagh City), Jack McIvor (Glenavon), Lee Upton (Portadown Youth), Barney McKeown (Portadown Youth), Ruairi McDonald (Dungannon Swifts), Jack Adamson (Portadown Youth), Daniel Neill (Portadown Youth), Daniel Gordon (Portadown Youth), Scott McCann (Loughgall Youth), Harry Evans (Portadown Youth), Chris Hutchinson (Portadown Youth), Rioghan Crawford (Lurgan Celtic), Alberto Balde (Portadown Youth), Tom Barratt (Portadown Youth), Ryan Latifi (Portadown Youth), Ryan Carmichael (Loughgall Youth).

PREMIER SQUAD: Conor Larkin (Portadown), Craig Robinson (Bangor), Conor Kerr (Armagh City), Craig Taylor (Annagh United), Ross Larkin (Armagh City), Eoin Toal (Armagh City), Shea Geraghty (Dungannon Swifts), Owen McConville (Dungannon Swifts), Pablo Andrade (Linfield), Zac Wilson (Portadown), Cathal McGinty (Cliftonville), Edi Tavares (Armagh City), Oisin Smyth (Dungannon Swifts), Reece McEnerney (Glenavon), Ryan Leeman (Loughgall), Nedas Maciulaitis (Portadown), Lorcan Forde (Warrenpoint Town), Jackson Holmes (Portadown).

County Armagh can look forward to tournament tests next month against County Tyrone, Rangers, Plymouth Argyle, County Down, Ichifuna and Alset Colombia across the junior and premier sections of what was previously called the Milk Cup.