Ben bags top prize

Junior captain Jake Rowe presenting the Junior Captain's Shield to winner Benjamin Boyd.
Junior captain Jake Rowe presenting the Junior Captain's Shield to winner Benjamin Boyd.

Benjamin Boyd was the big winner at Jake Rowe’s Junior Captain’s Day on Saturday.

He scored 39 points to take the top prize while Mark Cowan was second and the gross prize was won by incoming Junior Captain, David Cunningham.

The nine hole competition was won by William Cairns and Jude Whitten was second. Beth Moates finished in third place.

Issac Fitzpatrick won the four hole competition. Dylan Cooper finished in second place and Alex Cooper won third prize.

The 18 hole longest drive was won by Peter Taylor and the nine hole longest drive was won by Blaine Doyle.

The 18 hole nearest the pin prize was won by Eoin McCourt and the nine hole nearest the pin prize was won by Lee Whitten.

The nine hole putting competition was won by Scarlett Taylor and the four hole putting competition was won by Alex Cooper.


The Kidney Research stableford competition was played on Saturday. John Haffey playing off a handicap of eight scored a great score of 41 points to win the competition.

John returned a four over par round scoring 20 points on the front nine and 21 points on the back nine.

In second place was Derek Armstrong with 40 points. Third place went to Kevin Maguire with 39 points and Denver Jameson also with 39 points won fourth prize.

Mark Upton finished in fifth place with 38 points. Stuart Paul won the gross prize with level par 71 gross. Jim Stewart won the Yellow Block comp with 34 points.

Club Stableford

James Armstrong won the club stableford on Sunday with 37 points.

James who plays off four handicap scored one over in the front ning giving him 19 points and two over on the back nine scoring 18 points. Paul Liggett won the second prize with 36 points winning the prize on the back nine with 21 points.

Christopher Hegarty won third prize on the last six hole countback beating Des Coffey who claimed fourth prize. Christopher scored 13 points on the last six holes and Des scored 12 points.


Club Prize

The club prize sponsored by Body Treats Beauty Salon was played on Thursday.

Section A was won by Julie Swaffield. Vera Brady won Section B and Cherry Spiers won Section C.

Abbey Boucher Mixed Greensomes

The Abbey Boucher Open Mixed Greensomes, sponsored by Shelbourne Motors, was won by Jeff Forde and Helen Fleming. William and Carol Gillespie won the second prize and Andrew and Liz Walsh finished third.

Portadown Golf Club

British Legion Trophy - 03/09/16

1st Shane McDonald 66 - best last nine

2nd Stephen Poole 66

3rd Mark Jones 66

4th Melvin Moorehead 67 – best last nine

5th Philip McKeag 67

6th Keith Walker 69

Gross David Ross 70

September Medal - 01/09/16

1st David Ross 68 – better last nine

2nd Terry Sandford 68

3rd Ronnie Hynds 70

Gross Craig Black 76

Bank Holiday Open

Stableford - 29/08/16

1st Edward Rowe 40

2nd Derek McCoy 39

3rd Ronnie Weir 38

Gross Peter Taylor

Best Lady Angela Wray

Senior Open Stableford - 02/09/16

1st Craig Pearson 35

2nd Pete Savage 34


1st Sandra Sandford 34pts

2nd June Garvin 34pts

3rd Jean Barr also 34pts

4th Ann Arbuthnot 33pts