Lavery in fine form at Carrickblacker

Terry Sandford.
Terry Sandford.

The Irish Open at Royal County Down will feature a Portadown connection thanks to Terry Sandford and his team of marshals.

Sandford has been selected as the Carrickblacker club’s lead organiser for a team of hole marshals on behalf of Portadown.

The club focus at home centred on the Fullerton Cup and Darren Clarke MS Qualifier last weekend, with sponsorship from Edwin May Ltd Volkswagen of Portadown.

Matthew Lavery, playing off his nine handicap, completed the round in 71 to claim victory with a nett 62. Lavery will now play at the regional finals in Killymoon during October.

He was also the winner of the Open Stableford on Saturday and, as a result, his handicap has been reduced to seven.

Stephen Blevins finished as runner-up in the Fullerton Cup event on nett 65. Ernie Barr, Ken Courtney, Harry Proctor and Tom McFarland each posted nett 66 to secure positions third to sixth in the running order.

The gross was won by Ryan McKee on 72.

Herbie McCartney, a past captain, posted a hole-in-one at the 15th.

In the Wednesday Sweep - sponsored by Irwin’s - John McCallum registered 30 points.

The section winners were: 0-10 - Derek McCoy 30 points; 11-14 - Brian Galbraith 28; 15-18 - Paul Coulter 28; 19-plus - David McDowell 27.

Drew Cunningham came out on top in the Thursday Stableford with a winning tally of 41 points. Tim Sandford lost out across the countback.

Bryan Harvey came home next on 40 points, with Jason Gordon the gross winner thanks to 73.

Friday’s Senior All-Gender Open featured Mark Taylor in top spot on 44 points. Pete Savage was next in line on 38 points.

Geoff Robinson was first in the Monday Seniors on 35 points.

The low section was won by Andy Gribben with 32 and Ian Carmichael secured the high section on 29. David Gordon wrapped up the veterans’ honour on 30.

The main event tomorrow (Saturday) will be the Coronation Cup and Cancer Fund For Children qualifier.

In the ladies’ section, Ginga Singh and Joan Harbinson wrapped up the Nellie Garrett qualifying competition on 34 points.

Diane Coburn and Moira Irwin came home as runners-up on 33 points.

The winners will now visit Knock in September.

The Druim-an-Deur Open - sponsored by Irwin’s Bakery - will run on Friday, June 12, with booking online or via the Pro Shop.