Magic Magwood lifts Loughgall prize

Enjoying the golf classic organised by Loughgall Football Club on Friday are, from left, Wayne Whiteside, Stuart Corrigan, Ivan Webb and Neil Anderson.INPT31-205
Enjoying the golf classic organised by Loughgall Football Club on Friday are, from left, Wayne Whiteside, Stuart Corrigan, Ivan Webb and Neil Anderson.INPT31-205

Loughgall and Armagh have enjoyed numerous football derby tussles down the years.

On Saturday, James Magwood left the village golf course and returned to the city having captured Loughgall Football Club’s annual classic prize.

Magwood finished first in front of home member Albert Mulligan, with Portadown’s Gareth Posnett completing the top three thanks to the countback system.

Armagh’s Gary Baird had to settle for fourth.

Timmy Orr proved the leading name on the list of players without official Golfing Union of Ireland handicap status - followed by Stuart Corrigan.

Sandra McNally won the ladies’ prize playing off eight and also posted the longest drive at the first hole.

Darren Wilson won the other prize for longest drive thanks to success at the 17th.

“We would like to thank Loughgall Country Park for use of the facilities,” said Loughgall Football Club president Noel Willis. “Our thanks also go to Don Robinson Financial Services as main sponsor.

“We also appreciate, of course, The Irwin Group as ball sponsors and everyone who financially supported our tee-box quota.

“After completing the golf, the competitors and friends returned to our clubrooms at Lakeview Park for a steak meal and prize presentation.”


Stephen Poole finished as Council Cup champion around Carrickblacker courtesy of a nett 66 score.

Playing off his four handicap, Poole enjoyed a slick start thanks to a birdie three at the opening hole on the way to the one-over-par 36 at the turn of play.

He wrapped up the back leg with birdies around the 13th and 14th holes for a level-par score overall of 70.

His form left Gareth Thompson having to settle for runners-up spot on the countback system following a consistent 72 gross off his six handicap.

The running order also featured the following: Sammy Forbes (67 nett), Geoff Ludlow (68 nett), Robert Hughes (68 nett), Trevor Stretton (68 nett), John Mackin (gross winner, 75).

Andrew Fitzsimons posted hole-in-one success at the sixth and John Mackin’s ace arrived at the Council Cup’s 15th.

Thanks go to Danske Bank for providing sponsorship.

Mark Hewitt won the Thursday Stableford on 39 points, with Cameron Fox next in line and Mervyn Adamson securing third. The gross prize was won by Keith Walker on 72.

Derek McCoy finished at the front of the Wednesday Sweep field in the event sponsored by Tom Smyth MSM Promotions.

The section winners were as follows: 0-10 - Ryan McKee 32 points; 11-14 - Ken McKeen 27; 15-18 - Brian Matchett 30; 19-plus - John Cassidy.

The 14-hole Monday Seniors featured Geoff Allister first on 31 points.

The low section went to Willie Harbinson thanks to 31 points, with David Brighton the leading name over the high section on 29.

Eddie Atkinson was the top veteran name, thanks to 28 points.

The Mid-Ulster Senior Alliance team suffered defeat at home to Kilkeel across the semi-final - with a 3-1 reverse off the back of the away-leg’s 3.5 to 0.5 disappointment.

The entry deadline for President’s Day has been set as tomorrow (Saturday) ahead of the August 13 tournament. Hour bands for the open draw are available within the Pro Shop - with prize presentation from 9.30 followed by music thanks to Plug and Dominic.

Today (Friday) will mark the annual Parent and Child competition sponsored by Alexander, Bain and Murray Opticians.

A prize presentations will follow the 14-hole greensomes from 9 o’clock, with starting times available in the Pro Shop.

Open Stableford play will take place tomorrow (Saturday) and Sunday.

In the ladies’ section, Ganga Singh won the latest competition. Jean Barr and June Garvin were next home - with all three players posting 34 points.

The nine-hole event was won by C.Armstrong.