Mehaffey helps team put record tally on the board in Vagliano tournament

Olivia Mehaffey. Pic by PressEye Ltd.
Olivia Mehaffey. Pic by PressEye Ltd.

Scarva’s Olivia Mehaffey was on show as Great Britain and Ireland posted a record team tally in the Junior Vagliano Trophy.

However, the closing score of 11.5 points failed to prevent Europe from claiming a treble of Vagliano Trophy triumphs.

The Tandragee club member finished on a personal return of two points from four.

She will now enjoy a break before representing Ireland across the European Team Championships in Denmark.


David Armstrong picked up the main prize around Tandragee with 40 points in the weekly club Stableford.

Mark Whitten was next in line on 36 points, courtesy of the back-six countback.

The Grouse Shotgun Foursomes - sponsored by Mayfair Business Centre - finished with the Dennisons, Philip and Richard, home first on 41.

Club vice-captain Richard Hylands joined up with George Quinn across midweek play to post 38 points towards second.

Stephen Walker and Allen Morton enjoyed success thanks to the countback. Richard Cunningham and Charlie Patterson finished fourth.

In fifth were Philip Greer and Des Coffey ahead of David Medlow and Hugh McClurg.

Chris Fearon came home top of the Charlie Maginnis Memorial on Saturday off his handicap of 10. His one-over-par score over the front nine and a three-over-par return left Fearon on 42.

Graham McCrum was second overall, with Eamon Magee posting 40 points for third. The countback divided David Beattie, Peter Duke, Geoff Moorhead and Stuart Paul.

The top gross score arrived from Paul Topley, with Jim Pedlow the leading senior.

In the ladies’ section, Ruby Harvey won the Past Lady Captain’s prize on 37 points over Elizabeth Fleming, with Maureen McRory and Liz Fyfe first across, respectively, the front nine and back nine.

Julie McCarten scored 38 points towards the Lady Vice-Captain’s prize ahead of Karen Shaw thanks to the countback. Lorraine Magee finished third, with Barbara Ward the front nine winner and Liz Walsh first across the back nine.