Moody on song at Tandragee

Bethany Thornbury.
Bethany Thornbury.

Paul Moody proved the pick of the Tandragee field to collect the Club Stableford.

The countback system left Moody first over Terry Goward.

The Open Stroke featured James Armstrong in first as Benjamin Boyd was pushed down to second on the countback, with Stefan Greenberg third ahead of Jack McClean.

The J Newell Memorial Trophy was won by Walter Dowds on nett 65 off his 18 handicap. John Lennon and Alan Harvey wrapped up the top three - with Gary Ringland the pick of the next four players thanks to the countback.

Ringland had Paul Mallon, Gary Calvert and Barry Galvani next home, with Stefan Greenberg first in the gross.

Bethany Thornbury was first in the ladies’ event, with Ruby Harvey top in section two and Mary Lappinleading section three player

Tandragee’s Ulster Cup players held a 5-2 lead before the trip to Castlehume and wrapped up the second leg by 8.5-5.5 for semi-final progress.

Hammy Loney won his match on the 16th - with Johnny Quinn, John Haffey and Geoff Moorhead also in form.

Tandragee’s juniors managed to reach the Ronan Rafferty final thanks to strong performances in pursuit of the 13-point target.

The front nine resulted in 3.5 points - with Jake Rowe first across the back leg to claim victory by the 15th. Edward Rowe lifted three points on the 16th, with Cameron Fox collecting four by the 15th plus success for Peter Taylor and Jordan McKenzie.


Jonathan McNabb finished in front of James O’Hagan to seal the C&G Embroidery-sponsored Stableford.

Jonathan Hewitt won the gross and Eugene Scullion finished as leading veteran.

The section winners were: Davy McAdam (0-12), Stuart Treanor (13-18), Dennis Glass (19-plus), John Alfante (front nine) and Simon Wallace (back nine).

Graham Moore was top of the Murder Mystery NI-sponsored Weekly Challenge over Willie McWilliams and Anthony Ball.

Alan Magill finished first in the Nutmeg Treasures-sponsored Wednesday Sweep.

John Harrison won the juniors’ 18-hole competition over Daniel Brown, Nathan Agg and Ben Currie.