Nesbitt home first in the race for weekend Carrickblacker prize

Portadown juvenile captain Peter Baxter.
Portadown juvenile captain Peter Baxter.

Harmon Nesbitt finished first in the race for Stableford success at Carrickblacker on Saturday.

Playing off his 22 handicap, Nesbitt put 48 points on the scoreboard at Portadown thanks to 23 by the turn.

Drew Cunningham was home as runner-up on 45 points, followed by Bill Nixon’s 43. Three players - Stephen Blevins, Derek McCoy and Chris Sloan - each posted 42 points, with the countback system helping to settle the running order.

Philip McKeag’s level-par 69 helped him pick up the gross prize.

The Thursday Stableford featured Tom Mallon top on 22 points ahead of Derek McCoy’s 20.5 and a tally of 18.5 from Keith Walker.

In the Monday Seniors, Graham Patterson finished first with 35 points. The high section went to Pete Savage on 33 points, with Denis McNally’s 32 placing him as the leading veteran.

Portadown’s Ulster Cup team will take on Massereene in a first-round fixture, with Nigel Gilliland selected as captain ahead of Sunday’s away leg.

Entries for the 2015 Club Matchplay competitions - Fairline singles, scratch matchplay, John Jeffers fourball, club foursomes and mixed matchplay - should be registered in the Pro Shop ahead of the Sunday, May 3 deadline.

This week marked the opening session of the popular Wednesday Sweep, with five weekly prizes up for grabs.

Players will be competing across 20 weeks in total for the Ronnie Uprichard Rosebowl and cards can be taken out from 4 o’clock ahead of the 9.45 evening prize presentation.

Tomorrow’s (Saturday’s) fixture list will focus on the Collen Cup, which will operate using a fourball v par format. The Kilpatrick Cup for seniors is scheduled to run across Monday.

Michael Connolly was elected into the position of Portadown Golf Club president during the annual general meeting. The 2009 club captain has served at Carrickblacker as match and handicap convenor for a number of years.

Peter Baxter is this year’s juvenile captain.

Karen Shaw was the winner of the Lady Captain’s Easter prize thanks to 36 points. Maud Garvin posted 34 for second ahead of Ann Walker’s 33.

Pauline Troughton finished first in the nine-hole competition.


Patrick McCorry enjoyed a winning tally of 43 points around Loughgall during the Stableford sponsored by BJ Mullen & Sons.

He edged out Andy Currie, with Willie Crozier next in line on 41 points and Jonathan Hewitt posting the leading gross score.

The section winners were: 19-plus - W.Fenton; 13-18 - K.McCoy; 0-12 - E.Scullion; seniors - Rodney Clarke; front nine - Brian Nixon; back nine - Graham Buckley.

Anthony Bell proved the pick of the players in the Weekly Challenge thanks to 41 points, with Dessie Hughes forced to settle for second across the countback and Evan Simpson the top gross scorer.

For information on the junior section contact Davy McRoberts at (028) 38 892900.