Small seals big prize with weekend Carrickblacker win

William Small.
William Small.

William Small made the short journey from Tandragee to Portadown on Saturday and returned home with a big win in the Druim An Deur Open Stroke.

A six-under-par gross score of 64 left the visitor the toast of Carrickblacker off his one handicap.

An outward nine of 31 featured birdies across the second, fourth, seventh and ninth holes.

His return leg produced highlights at the 14th and 16th holes to post 33 towards the one-shot success.

Vincent O’Brien, playing off his 19 handicap, edged out Reggie Hill for runners-up spot.

Andrew McSorley, another Tandragee player, finished fourth over Bill Stewart - with David Cuthbert sixth on his defence of the prize.

David Ross picked up the gross prize thanks to a back-nine tally of 34.

Club captain Stanley Jelly would like to thank Ulster Carpets for continued sponsorship support.

In the June Medal, Gordon Willis was first on 67 - with Stephen Aston matching that score but forced into second.

Pete Savage wrapped up the top three and Keith Walker added to his tally of gross honours.

Brian Matchett’s score of 35 points left him overall winner of the Wednesday Sweep’s week eight programme.

The section winners were: 0-10 - Ryan McKee 34 points; 11-14 - Don Carville 34 points; 15-18 - Peter Baxter 31 points; 19-plus - Vincent O’Brien 32 points.

The Bank Holiday Open Stableford attracted impressive support from outside clubs as Silverwood’s Stephen Morgan picked up the main Open Stableford prize on 40 points for his one-shot win.

Andrew Connolly and David Henderson both registered 39 points, with Robert Hughes on 38 and Rosemary Wilson the winner of the ladies’ prize.

Dean Acheson finished first in the gross standings.

Members are reminded that Captain’s Day play will run on Saturday, June 25 and the open draw is available in the Pro Shop.

Teams were out in force last weekend as four inter-club fixtures featured on the schedule.

Keith Walker’s Senior Cowdy squad proved too strong for Rossmore - with wins for the former plus David Ross, Andrew Connolly and Philip McKeag.

A 6-1 reverse arrived for Nigel Gilliland’s panel at Portsalon in the Ulster Cup. Ashley Elliott posted Portadown’s sole win, with home play on Sunday from 3 o’clock.

Stevie Fox’s Sam Rutherford team registered a clean sweep over Nuremore. The Cowdy event left the Rossmore players down by one hole against Nuremore.

The Barton Shield panel will visit Murvagh on Sunday for the GUI event - with team captain Raymond McKeag selecting Keith Walker, Craig Black, Stephen Poole and David Ross.

In the ladies’ Peggy Nelson qualifying, Honor Reid was first over June Garvin and Valerie Courtney. Qualifiers for the Peggy Nelson in Dunmurry next month are Sandra Sandford, Honor Reid and Mavis McCallum.