Matchplay stages on the cards

Stanley Jelly out at Carrickblacker during a recent round. Pic by Phil Ray.
Stanley Jelly out at Carrickblacker during a recent round. Pic by Phil Ray.

The Clubworld Travel New Year Tournament matchplay stages will run tomorrow (Saturday) morning from 10.30, with the draw as follows:

MATCH ONE (10.30): Michael Connolly and Geoff Robinson v Michael Heaney and Nigel Morton; MATCH TWO (10.40): Ronnie Hynds and Don Black v Melvin Moorehead and Chris Sloan; MATCH THREE (10.50): Derek McCoy and Melvin Hull v Tom McFarland and John Cassidy; MATCH FOUR (11 o’clock): Andrew Poole and Ken Courtney v Eamon Monaghan v Seamus Brown.

The semi-finals will run on Saturday, March 21 and final the following week at Carrickblacker.

Results from week seven of the qualifying stages: SECTION A: 1, Ronnie Hynds and Don Black 33.5 points; 2, Bryan Harvey and Jason Armstrong 32.5; 3, Michael Connolly and Geoff Robinson 30.5. SECTION B: 1, Harmon Nesbitt and Bertie Speers 35.5 points; 2, Stuart Connolly and Barry Gracey 35.5; 3, Melvin Moorehead and Chris Sloan 34.5.

Nesbitt and Speers secured top of section B thanks to the seven-hole countback.

A 14-hole Stableford will run for non-qualifiers this weekend. Players are reminded that the tee will close from 10.15 to 11.15 for the matchplay stages.

The winner of the latest 14-hole Saturday Sweep was Shane McDonald on 36 points, followed by Drew Cunningham’s 34.

The Monday Seniors finished with Drew Cunningham top on 33 points.

Geoff Robinson claimed the low section honour on 29, with Ronnie Berry first in the high handicap section thanks to 32. John Clarke claimed the veterans’ prize on 32 points.

The club’s annual general meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, March 18 when John McCallum will take on the role of club captain and Michael Connolly step in as president.

In the ladies’ section, Jean Barr won the White Elephant 14-hole charity competition on 33 points over Karen Shaw’s 29 and Ann Walker with 27.

Congratulations go to Pauline Troughton for success in the nine-hole competition.

A timesheet has been posted for a three-ball scramble on Tuesday, March 24, with everyone welcome to sign up at Carrickblacker.