Tandragee’s Taylor top of the Ulster field to take boys’ title

Peter Taylor celebrates his under 14s' Ulster Boys' Championship triumph with Tandragee captain Hammy Loney.
Peter Taylor celebrates his under 14s' Ulster Boys' Championship triumph with Tandragee captain Hammy Loney.

Tandragee teenager Peter Taylor proved the toast of Ballymena thanks to a play-off success in the under 14s’ Ulster Boys’ Championship.

Taylor scored 69 gross before claiming success on the fourth tie hole against Castle Dargan’s Patrick Callaghan.

The inaugural championship featured two qualifying rounds - at Spa and Omagh respectively - to produce 66 players for the final.

Congratulations go to Taylor from everyone at Tandragee.

At club level, Alan Copeland won the Sunday Stableford on 41 points off his 18 handicap.

Stephen Dennison came home as runner-up on 40 points and Gerald Mullen finished third with 39.

Terry Goward secured fourth courtesy of the six-hole countback.

In the Kidney Research Trophy, Neill Cooke claimed top spot on 43 points off his six handicap.

He posted a three-under-par 24 for the front nine then 19 points across the back leg - with highlights by Cooke the birdies on the first, second and 15th holes alongside his eagle at the eighth.

Frank Pelissou, playing off 22, scored 41 points for second and the countback system resulted in Geoff Moorhead leading Sean Loy, Nigel Duffy and Graham Knox.

Alan Jones finished sixth on 39 points, with James Hewitt the pick of the gross field on a three-under-par 69.

Hewitt produced birdies on the second, fourth, sixth and 17th holes.

James Magee won the seniors on 39 points, with the back-nine countback resulting in 21.

The Open Mixed Greensomes - sponsored by Spar - featured Geoff Gray and Suzy Walsh home with the prize.

Gray and Walsh captured first on 42 points, with Jim Carson and Eileen Maginess next home on 41.

Dave Clayton and Claire McDonnell finished on 39 points to secure third.

The ladies’ section featured Anne Hall first in the 02 Challenge sponsored by Sarah Dalzell Photography.

Hall scored 38 points to finish in front of Liz Walsh’s 37.

Marlyn Warren was third on 36 points to edge out the lady captain, Dolores Hamill, over the countback.

The Granny Prize - sponsored by Kathleen Donaghy - was also won by Hall.