Kneen captures main Tandragee prize

Dan Kneen managed to take home the feature race title at Tandragee 100 thanks to a winning weekend display around the Orchard County roads.

Monday, 25th April 2016, 9:46 am
Updated Monday, 25th April 2016, 10:49 am
Dan Kneen at the Tandragee 100. Pic by Pacemaker.

The Manx master finished first over Derek Sheils and Malaci Mitchell-Thomas in the Around-A-Pound-sponsored meeting held under the North Armagh Motorcycle and Car Club banner.

Kneen’s afternoon featured a measure of controversy as the Open Superbike race was awarded to Ryan Farquhar following a one-minute penalty imposed on two riders for an alleged jump start. Kneen was first in the race ahead of Sheils but both were relegated down the race order, although the result remains the subject of an appeal.

William Dunlop won the Supersport 600cc prize, with Farquhar top of the Supertwins standings - plus the 450cc race - and Sam Wilson the 125cc winner.

Rhys Hardisty from Wales edged to victory in the 250cc race by just 0.2 seconds.

Bleary’s Anthony McColgan collected the Forgotten Era prize.

Michal Dokoupil from the Czech Republic proved a popular winner of the 400cc race.

Classic winners were Jamie O’Brien, Mark Parrett, Mark Johnson and Philip Shaw.

James Chawke finished top of the Junior Support placings.

The Senior Support race was won by Joe Newbould.

Results are as follows:

TANDRAGEE 100 FEATURE: Dan Kneen; 125: Sam Wilson; 400: Michal Dokoupil; 450: Ryan Farquhar; 250: Rhys Hardisty; FORGOTTEN ERA: Anthony McColgan; SUPERTWINS: Ryan Farquhar; SUPERSPORT: William Dunlop; OPEN SUPERBIKE: Ryan Farquhar; JUNIOR SUPPORT: James Chawke; SENIOR SUPPORT: Joe Newbould; CLASSIC: Jamie O’Brien (1000), Mark Parrett (500), Mark Johnson (350), Philip Shaw (250).