Sloan and Aston share upper hand in New Year tournament at the 'Blacker

Milne Sloan and Neil Aston posted the top scores across week four of the Clubworld Travel New Year Tournament thanks to 25 points within the 10-hole Stableford event.

Sunday, 28th February 2016, 7:00 pm
Derek Lewis, Nigel Gilliland, Ronnie McReynolds and Paul McLaughlin checking the Portadown scorecards.INPT08-614

Sloan secured the lead in section B as a result, with Aston the winner of the C group.

Alan Peters was section B’s runner-up on 23 points, followed by David Cuthbert on 22.5.

In section C, Mervyn Adamson and Vincent O’Brien helped to complete the leading three placings courtesy of, respectively, scores of 24.5 and 23.5 points.

Ryan McKee was first in section A on 21.5 points - followed by Craig Black’s 21 and Keith Walker with 20.

Stanley Templeton registered 23 points for first in section D to claim the lead over Ronnie Withers’ 21.5 and Derek Lewis on 21.

The overall standings after week four are as follows:

SECTION A: 1, Ryan McKee 19 points; 2, Keith Walker 17; 3, Gordon Willis 17.

SECTION B: 1, Paul Hanna 19 points; 2, Milne Sloan 16; 3, Michael Connolly 14.

SECTION C: 1, Neil Aston 24 points; 2, Vincent O’Brien 21.

SECTION D: 1, Stanley Templeton 27 points; 2, Ronnie Withers 18.

Two weeks of qualifying play now remain.

In the Monday Seniors, Ronnie Hynds was first in the low section on 23 points and Ian Carmichael claimed top spot across the high section on the same tally. The winner, with 24 points, was C.Pearson - with Ronnie Weir the leading veteran on 20 points.

In the ladies’ section at Carrickblacker, Laura McAdam was presented with the Captain’s Pin by Anne Fox on Tuesday during the installation ceremony.

Dorothy Davey, the outgoing lady president, offered a warm welcome to Norma Bell as her successor.

The following members will form the ladies’ committee: Carole Burrows, June Garvin, Liz Lowe, Rosemarie Wilson.

Prize winners: Nine-Hole Summer Ringer - Pauline Troughton; 18-Hole Summer Ringer - Karen Shaw; Birdie Tree - Karen Shaw; Par Tree - Jenny McBride; Silver Spoon - Jean Barr; Bronze Medal - Helen Spencer; Silver Medal - Sandra Sandford; Montgomery Rosebowl - Maude Garvin; Challenge Trophy - Yvonne Radcliffe; Shillington Cup - June Garvin; Past Captain’s Cup - Edna Gribben; Margaret Anderson Cup - Karen Shaw; Nelson Family Spoon - Edna Gribben; Golfer Of The Year - Jean Barr.