Tir na nOg and Ballyhegan girls set for Armagh panel

Tir na nOg and Ballyhegan players have been selected to attend county training for the ladies' under 16s.

Sunday, 24th January 2016, 2:26 pm
Updated Sunday, 24th January 2016, 2:29 pm
Grace Ferguson.

Orlaith Cullen and Clodagh Girvan from Tir na nOg will line out alongside Ballyhegan’s Grace Ferguson and Lauren O’Gorman across sessions in pursuit of a place in the final 30-strong panel registered for Ulster play.

The opening Ulster fixture will take place on March 6 against Derry.

Training dates at Sherry’s Field 3G in Armagh have been planned for Sunday, January 24 (10-12 o’clock) and Wednesday January 27 (8-9 o’clock). The January 27 meeting will mark the first of five consecutive Wednesday evenings.

Clubs must notify players selected and anyone unable to attend must contact a member of management in advance.

“Thanks to all the girls who attended trials,” said a spokesperson for the under 16s’ management. “It was a very difficult decision on who to select as the standard was very high.

“We would have sufficient numbers to be able to field a strong development team.

“So, if there are any coaches within the county who would be interested in helping out at under 16s’ ;level, please contact the current management or a member of the Ladies’ County Board.

“If we could field a second team at this level, even for a few challenge games, this would enable more players to have the opportunity to play county football.”

The full list is as follows: Alex Clarke, Dearbhla Coleman, Caitlin Coleman, Emma Conlon, Orlaith Cullen, Rionna Cunningham, Lisa Devlin, Nicole Donnelly, Grace Ferguson, Niamh Forker, Elena Garvey, Clodagh Girvan, Cairrai Hamill, Millie Kinney, Orla Mcalinden, Orlaith McArdle, Meabh McCambridge, Anna McCaughley, Amelia McCormack, Sorcha McDonnell, Orlagh McKenna, Orlagh McKenna, Megan McShane, Meave McShane, Tierna McVeigh, Nicole Monaghan, Kirsty Murphy, Niamh Murray, Eimear O’Brien, Eimear O’Connor, Alannah O’Grady, Lauren O’Gorman, Alannagh O’Neill, Erin O’Reilly, Sarah Quigley, Hanna Quinn, Chloe Quinn, Niamh Reel, Clodagh Robinson, Niamh Ruddy, Amy-Leigh Smith, Anna Toner, Caite Towe, Jessica Watters.